The Songs That Could Have Been by Amanda Wen

Today I am thrilled to feature The Songs That Could Have Been by Amanda Wen, on tour with Read with Audra Blog Tours!

About the Book

Two couples in love. Two sets of impossible circumstances. One powerful God of grace.

After a devastating tailspin in her late teens, Lauren Anderson’s life is finally back on track. Then a chance meeting with Carter Douglas, her first love and the man who broke her heart, threatens to throw her well-balanced world out of control.

Now a TV meteorologist, Carter is determined to make amends with Lauren. After all, she still owns his heart. But his old demons are forcing him toward the same decision he faced in the past. Is he courageous enough to make a different choice this time around?

When Lauren’s elderly grandmother, Rosie, begins having nightmares about a man named Ephraim–a name her family has never heard before—a fascinating and forbidden past love comes to light. As Lauren and Carter work to uncover the untold stories of Rosie’s past in 1950s Wichita, they embark on a journey of forgiveness and second chances that will change their lives—and Rosie’s—forever. Along the way they’ll learn that God wastes nothing, his timing is perfect, and nothing is beyond his grace and redemption.

The Songs That Could Have Been is full of the same deftly handled, resonant writing that readers and critics alike enjoyed in Amanda Wen’s first book in the series, Roots of Wood and Stone. Fans of Lisa Wingate and Rachel Hauck will add Amanda Wen to their must-read shelves.

Click here to read an excerpt.

About the Author

Amanda Wen is an award-winning writer of inspirational romance and split-time women’s fiction. She has placed first in multiple writing contests, including the 2017 Indiana Golden Opportunity, the 2017 Phoenix Rattler, and the 2016 ACFW First Impressions contests. She was also a 2018 ACFW Genesis Contest finalist. Her debut novel was a 2021 Christy Award First Novel finalist.
 
Wen is a member of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) and regularly contributes author interviews for their Fiction Finder feature. She also frequently interviews authors for her blog and is a contributor to the God Is Love blog. She is the author of Roots of Wood and Stone and The Songs That Could Have Been.
 
In addition to her writing, Wen is an accomplished professional cellist and pianist who frequently performs with orchestras, chamber groups, and her church’s worship team. She serves as a choral accompanist as well. A lifelong denizen of the flatlands, Wen lives in Kansas with her patient, loving, and hilarious husband, their three adorable Wenlets, and a snuggly Siamese cat.
 
To find Amanda Wen’s blog and short stories, visit www.amandawen.com. Readers can also follower her on Facebook (@AuthorAmandaWen)Twitter (@AuthorAmandaWen), and Instagram (@authoramandawen).

Purchase Links

Amazon

Barnes and Noble

Books-A-Million

Christian Book

My Thoughts

This book was well worth the wait!!  I am so impressed with the author’s ability to take several sensitive subjects and write about them with such respect and accuracy that you feel the emotions of the characters as they grapple with them.  I really liked the characters in the novel, both past and present.  They are engaging and I found myself invested in their stories.  The characters each have their trials but there is also a message of hope in the story.  There are a lot of relatable truths in the book, but my favorite was the theme of trusting God to help us through our problems.  I do recommend reading Of Roots and Stone first but both books really are great reads.  Highly recommended!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author.  Opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own.

And now… a giveaway!

Click on the photo above or follow this link to enter the giveaway! http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/8b3c91bb34/

Thanks for stopping by!

Roots of Wood and Stone by Amanda Wen

Historical museum curator Sloane Kelley finds a diary from the nineteenth century inside a satchel at work one day and sets out to discover more about the contents and author.  She wishes to explore the old farmhouse owned by Garrett Anderson in order to look for answers, but Garrett simply wants to sell the crumbling home.  Over a hundred and fifty years earlier, Annabelle Collins writes in her diaries as she settles with her aunt and uncle in the prairies of Sedgwick County, Kansas.  Her diaries may forever change Sloane and Garrett in ways they never imagined.

Amanda Wen is definitely an author to watch!  I greatly enjoyed her debut novel as she brings history to life amid the pages and ties in the past to the present during the split-time story.  The author handles the topic of adoption well and also incorporates the theme of God working everything out for good seamlessly in the story.  The plot drew me in with its rich telling of love and loss.  There are a few twists that I did not predict which further made the novel engaging.  I highly recommend this book and look forward to more by this author!

I received a complimentary copy of this book from the author.  Opinions expressed in this review are entirely my own.